CNA Classes in Nevada (NV)

To become a Certified Nursing Assistant in Nevada you need to take training approved by the Nevada State Board of Nursing (NSBN) and pass two exams. The NSBN handles the Nevada CNA program and administers the certification working with Prometric, Inc.

Before You Start.

You must meet the following;

  • Be at least 18 years old.
  • Have a High School Diploma or GED.
  • Have a criminal background check, including felony record check and fingerprinting.
  • Have proof of negative drug screen, negative TB screening and immunizations.
  • Possess a CPR certificate.

How to Apply.

You do not need to do the training if you meet any of the following –

  • Waiver- You have proof of a license as a LPN or RN in another state or country.
  • Reciprocity-You are registered as a CNA in the nursing aide registry of another state.
  • Lapsed-If your license has expired. You can reactivate it by completing the renewal process. If CNAs have not worked in nursing for over 3 years, you will need to complete a refresher course before renewal.

If you have to do the training, courses can be found by following this link. All approved training needs at least 75 hours. This is split between 15 hours of clinical work and 60 hours of classroom instruction. After completing the training, you can apply to take the exams. When the form for your exam is accepted, you are given a list of contacts to book your place. The exam has two parts – practical and written. You are placed on the state’s registry only when you pass both the parts.

Fees.

Earning a CNA certificate can take months. The price for training is about $1000. You can get training and testing free of cost if you work at an approved facility during the training period. The employer pays your testing and training costs.

Testing fees are as follows:

Great Basin College.

  • Written Retake-$30.
  • Clinical Retake-$60.
  • Both tests-$90.

College of Southern Nevada.

  • Written Retake-$30.
  • Clinical Retake-$90.
  • Both tests-$120.

Truckee Meadows Community College.

  • Written Retake-$30.
  • Clinical Retake- $ 90.
  • Both Tests- $120.

Certificate Renewal.

CNA license is valid for two years. To keep it active, you need to renew it. You must have been in a paid job for at least 1 day in the last 2 years. Forms are sent to you around 60 days before the date of expiry.

Must Know Facts.

  • You get 3 attempts to pass both the sections of the exam. There is a new fee for every try of the exam. If do not pass the exam within those three attempts, you must retake the training again.
  • You can take a sample test by following this link.
  • You can’t swap or get your money back on your test fees.
  • You must take the exam within 1 year of applying to NSBN.

Traditional Classes Training Centers

School City Phone
Western Nevada College Carson (775) 445-3295 Request Information
Milan Institute, Reno - Sparks Sparks (775) 348-7200 Request Information
College of Southern Nevada Las Vegas (702) 651-5690 Request Information
Great Basin College Elko (775) 753-2216 Request Information
Truckee Meadows Community College Reno (775) 673-7115 Request Information
Dayton High School Dayton (775) 246-6240
White Pine County School District Ely (775) 289-4811
Fernley High School Femley (775) 575-3400
Mount Grant General Hospital Hawthorne, (775) 945-2461
East Career and Technical Academy Las Vegas (702) 799-8888
Purrfect Nursing Services Las Vegas (702) 385-3853
Southeast Career and Technical Academy Las Vegas (702) 799-7500
Southwest Career and Technical Academy Las Vegas (702) 799-5766
Western High School Las Vegas (702) 799-4080
Sierra Nevada Job Corps Reno (775) 789-0800
Silver Stage High School Silver Springs (775) 577-5071
South Lyon Medical Center Yerington (775) 463-6405
Yerington High School Yerington (775) 463-6822

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer