facebook_pixel

CNA Classes in Missouri (MO)

To be on the CNA registry of Missouri you must take a training program and pass two exams. The Department of Health and Senior Services looks after the certification programs of Certified Nursing Assistants. The exams are usually taken where you do your training, but exams can also be taken at some community colleges and training schools.

Before you Start.

You can apply for the CNA training programs if you meet the following;

  • You must be at least 18 years old, or you must be enrolled in the program of ‘occupational health career’ in an accredited high school.
  • You must have a GED or be a high School graduate.
  • You must not have any criminal background. You must take a fingerprint and background check.
  • You must undertake a physical test, and pass a TB and drug screening test.
  • You must not be banned by ‘Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services’.

How to Apply.

You may be able to skip the CNA training course and take the exam straight away if you are any of these below;

  • A LPN or RN candidates that failed to pass the exam.
  • Are enrolled for the RN/LPN program, that contained a clinical rotation in the past 5 years.
  • You have done the training program in another country.
  • You are enlisted on the ‘Missouri State Certified Nurse Assistant Register’  with an inactive status.
  • You are active on an out-of-the state registry.

Missouri gives only one chance pass the exam if one of the above applies to you. If you fail to pass the exam then you need to take the training again and then do the exam again. If you need to do the nursing aide training, a list of the state approved programs can be had from the ‘Department of Health’- Follow this link.  Every state approved program needs at least 75 hours in the classroom and 100 hours of practical training. You can apply for the exam after you have done the training. There are two exams. One exam tests clinical skills and the other is written questions. Prometric conducts the exam. You can find a sample test here.

Fees.

In Missouri, the cost of training depends on if you work in skilled nursing or at a long term care facility or not. If you do you have to pay $ 500, that covers the exam fees as well. If you do not, you have to pay about $1400 for training and the exam.

Certificate Renewal.

The certificate of the certified nursing assistant lasts two years. The license can be renewed if you have evidence of at least 8 hours as a paid CNA during the past 2 years.

Must know Facts.

  • Candidates must take and pass the exams of the certified nursing assistant within six months after you finish your training.
  • If you do not pass the exams you are allowed to take it two more times within three months.
  • If your license expires, you can either re-take the training course or give proof of employment.
  • Under the Federal Law, if you are working in a skilled nursing facility you are not meant to pay the training and exam fees. Your employer should pay it for you.

If you do not pass both parts of the exam in 90 days you have to do the training again.

Traditional Classes Training Centers

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer