facebook_pixel

CNA Classes in Delaware (DE)

To become a CNA in Delaware, you must take the CNA training class. You will also have to take and pass the test.

The DLTCRP, or Delaware Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection, oversees the CNA process. This group works with Prometric to design and conduct the test and monitor the CNA registry.

Requirements:

  • 16 years old or older
  • Be CPR certified
  • High school diploma or GED
  • Proof of immunizations, including hepatitis B
  • Physical that includes a TB and drug test
  • Background check with fingerprinting
  • No allegations of drug, felony thefts, or violent offenses
  • Information about the Criminal Check and Mandatory Drug Testing at (302)577-7295, ext. 244.

To Apply:

The DLTCRP provides a list of Programs.

You do not have to take the program if you:

  • are a graduate or student nurse who has completed a program of at least 75 hours.
  • are a CNA from another state with experience of at least 3 months paid employment.
  • are an LPN with over 1 year of certification.
  • have a past CNA certificate and have worked at least 64 hours in the last year.

Programs are 150 or more hours. They are divided between classroom lectures and clinical learning. After you complete the training, you apply to take the test. There is a written test, a clinical skills test, and a practical test where you perform nursing skills.

Prometric provides an Example Test.

Fees:

Training fees are between $800 and $1000. Testing fees include:

  • Written and Skill test- $108
  • Oral and Skill test- $118
  • Only Oral retake- $50
  • Only Written retake- $40
  • Only Skills retake- $80

Renewal:

Your license must be renewed every 2 years. You must take continuing education classes of 24 hours during the 2 year certification period. Your license can only be renewed if you have worked as a CNA for at least 64 hours in the past 24 months.

Facts:

  • If you are employed or have a job offer,  all fees will be paid for by the employer.
  • You may work as a CNA without a license for up to 120 days. If you don’t get certified in that time, you can’t work as a CNA.
  • You have 24 months after completing training to take the test or you will have to take the training again.

Traditional Classes Training Centers

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer