CNA Classes in Hawaii (HI)

To become a CNA in Hawaii, you must take a state-approved training program and exam. Once you pass the test, your name is placed on the state nurse aide registry and you’re ready to work.

The Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs (DCCA) administers the nurse aide certification process. An independent company called Prometric monitors the CNA exam and oversees the nurse aide registry.

Training Requirements

To apply for a CNA training program, the state of Hawaii stipulates that you must:

  • Be at least 18.
  • Have at least a 9th grade education, or pass the TABE test.
  • Provide proof of immunization.
  • Complete a physical exam, including a TB test and drug test.
  • Pass a criminal background check.

Enroll in a CNA Program

Look on the Prometric website for a full list of state-approved CNA programs. In Hawaii, you must complete 100 training hours. This includes 30 hours of classroom study and 70 hours of clinical skills.

You can skip the mandatory training and take the exam immediately if:

  • Your CNA license has expired.
  • You’re already licensed in another state. In this case, the DCCA may immediately put you on the CNA registry, or ask you to take the exam.

Taking the CNA Exam

Once you’ve completed 100 training hours, you may take the CNA exam. Apply to take the test through the Prometric website. The exam includes both written and practical skills sections.

If you face a language barrier or suffer from anxiety, you may ask to take the test orally.


In Hawaii, the cost of CNA training can range from $1,000-$2,000. On top of tuition, you’ll need to pay for books and testing fees.

You can pay your exam fees to Prometric prior to taking the test. The fees are:

  • Application fee: $25
  • Written and practical test: $200
  • Orally administered test: $210
  • Written Retesting: $50
  • Skills Retesting: $150
  • Oral Retesting: $60

License Renewal

  • Your CNA license is good for 24 months.
  • You’ll get a reminder in the mail to renew your license 90 days before it expires.
  • You can only renew your license if you have worked as a CNA for at least 8 hours during the past 24 months.

Key Facts

  • You have to pass the CNA exam within 2 years after finishing training. You can take the test 3 times in that period. If you still don’t pass on the third try, you need to retrain and then retest.
  • You can work as a nurse aide for up to 120 days in a health care facility before getting your license.
  • If you pay your exam fee but don’t take the test within the 2-year window, the fee will not be refunded.
  • If you work in a nursing home while enrolled in a CNA program, or a nursing home offers you a job, federal law stipulates that your employer will pay for your training, exams, books and other study materials.

Traditional Classes Training Centers

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer