If you want to be a CNA in Minnesota, then the process is short and simple. First, you need to make sure you are eligible, then you do training and take an exam. When you pass, you will be entered into the Nurses’ Aide registry and can get a job as a CNA.
In Minnesota, the National Nurse Aide Assessment Program (NNAAP) conducts the test, but the training is handled by the Minnesota Department of Health.
Before you can become a CNA in Minnesota, you must:
You can start working as a CNA before you pass your exams. If you contact nursing homes in your area, they may hire you without your certificate. Even better, people who are working in a certified nursing care home may work as a CNA for up to 120 days. After 120 days your employer must pay for your training. Once the 120 days are up, you need to complete your training and your exam, or you have to stop working.
In order to apply for your exam and get certified, you must be trained. Some people satisfy the training needs without taking a CNA training course in Minnesota. You may be not have to do the training if you:
If either of these applies to you, then you need to file some paperwork. You need to complete this form from the Minnesota Department of Health.
Everyone else needs to complete an approved training course to be able to take the exam. Certified training programs for Minnesota include at least 75 hours of study. This includes 16 hours in the clinic, and the rest in a lab and class work.
When you have done your training program, you must do the certification exam within 2 years.
After finishing the training course, you need to apply for the exam through Pearson Vue. You get three attempts to pass the exam. If you don’t pass the exam in those three tries, then you need to do a training program again.
The whole process costs roughly $500 and takes around 4 months to do, from start to finish. In addition to these costs, there are examination fees:
Note Federal Law says, you don’t have to pay your training fees if you work in a nursing home. If you do, your employer has to pay all of the fees for your training.