facebook_pixel

CNA Classes in Montana (MT)

To become a Certified Nursing Assistant in Montana you need to enroll in a CNA training course. This is monitored by the ‘Montana Department of Health’. You then need to take and pass an exam. When you have you will be enlisted in the state registry.

Before You Start.

Before you can take training you need at least;

  • Be 18 years of age;
  • You must have current immunization.
  • You need to have a criminal background check, including for felonies and fingerprints.
  • You need to take a complete physical exam. You must have a negative drug and TB testing.
  • Must have a GED or High School Graduation.

How to Apply.

You can skip the training and go straight to the exams if any of the below applies to you-

  • Nursing students – who has finished the nursing course
  • Lapsed Candidates – who has certification that is expired for less than 24 months and they are listed as inactive in the state’s nursing aide’s registry.
  • Challengers – whose learning and experience qualify them to sit directly for the exam.
  • Endorsement – these are candidates who earned their CNAs in states other than Montana.

You can get the application form by downloading it here.

Candidates, who think they can skip the training, can check to find training programs that are approved by the state’s nursing board.

In Montana, CNA training programs requires 24 hours hands-on training and 50 hours in the classroom under the regulation of RN.

Fees.

In Montana, it takes roughly $ 1000 to take the CNA training course. This does not include the testing fees.

Candidates must take an evaluation check (Montana Nurse Aide Skills Competency Check List) before taking the exam. The actual exam is in two parts – a written test and skills test.

The testing fees are as follows-

  • Written Test- $ 20.
  • Skills Tests- $ 77.
  • Oral Test- $ 31.
  • Skills retest- $ 77.

Certificate Renewal.

The license stays valid for 2 years from the issuing date. The notification for renewal is sent to the CNA around 2-3 months before it runs out. On the expiration of the certificate, candidates need to take the training course of 75 hours or they can challenge the CNA testing.

No fees are charged for renewal. You will have to pay if you have an inactive status.  This means that you have not been a CNA for over 23 months.

Must Know Facts.

  • According Federal Law, if you work at a Medicare approved skilled nursing facilities, you don’t have to pay the CNA training and testing fees. Those costs are met by your employer.
  • When you apply for the exam you have to prove that you have taken the training and send a copy of your training certificate with the form.
  • If you don’t pass in three attempts you have to do the training again. If you want help to get ready for the exam you can go here.

Traditional Classes Training Centers

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer