facebook_pixel

CNA Classes in New Hampshire (NH)

To become a Certified Nursing Aide in New Hampshire you must first pass some basic requirements. Once you have done that you can start your training. After you have done your training you must pass some exams.

It is the Board of Nursing that handles the training and manages the registry. The Board works with the D&S Diversified Technologies to oversee the exams and give out the results. On passing the exam, you are put on the registry for 2 years before you need to renew.

Before You Start.

You must meet the following before you can start your training;

  • Be 18 or older.
  • Have a High School Diploma or GED.
  • Be physically fit and pass the lifting requirement.
  • Have a full background check, involving fingerprints.
  • Have a complete physical check and pass drug screening, TB testing and have all the needed immunizations.

How to Apply.

Not everyone needs to do the training course. If have either of these you can miss out on the training

  • You appear on the ‘Challenge Program’, and have the consent of New Hampshire Board of Nursing.
  • Reciprocity- You have a certificate from another state.

If you have to do the training, for a list of approved programs follow this link.

Training courses are 100 hours, 60 hours of lab work and another 40 hours of classroom study.

Fees.

The CNA training costs about $1000. On top of this there can be extra costs for books and exams.  A range of fees is charged for testing. If you can’t afford the cost of the getting a certificate you can contact the NH’s Board of Nursing for free nursing aide options. The Board will tell you about the training programs that provide free training, scholarships or grants.

Federal law says that CNAs who take training, testing and get registered within 12 months after getting a job at skilled nursing homes or facilities, do not have to pay fees or expenses. The fees will be covered by the company who they work for.

Certificate Renewal.

The CNA certificate lasts for 24 months. After that you have to renew it. To renew, you have to complete 12 hours of instruction. To be allowed to renew it you must have been paid to work, as a CNA, at least 100 hours a year over both years.

Must Know Facts.

  • You have to pass the exam in no more than three goes. If you can’t, you have to do the training again.
  • You have to apply to take the exam online. Only after you have been accepted can you take the exams.
  • Testing takes place in lots of places. You can pick a site after you have the go ahead from you online application.
  • You can take a sample test by following this link.

Traditional Classes Training Centers

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer