facebook_pixel

CNA Classes in Rhode Island (RI)

To become a CNA in Rhode Island you need to pass an approved training course. You then need to take the CNA exam. In Rhode Island, the Department of Health work with Pearson VUE to conduct the exams and certify new CNAs.  All CNA testing in Rhode Island carried out under the control of the CCRI (Community College of Rhode Island).

To be Eligible

To be a CNA in Rhode Island, you must:

  • Be at least 18 years old.
  • Complete a physical test with a drug screen, a TB test and immunizations checks.
  • Have a GED or high school diploma.
  • Pass a criminal check, which has a check on felony arrests and fingerprints.

How to Apply

Most people will need to do an approved CNA training class before they can apply in Rhode Island.  Some people are do not have to do this training.  If you have either of these you do not have to do the training:

  • If you have nursing assistant certificate which ran out less than two years ago.
  • Nursing students who have done two clinical courses.

If you need to do training, then you must carry out at least 100 hours of CNA training. This is divided between at least 20 hours of clinical work, and the remainer spent in classroom lectures. The whole training course usually takes a few months.

After training, you need to apply for the certification exam. You can get apply  by contacting CCRI or through your training program. When CCRI get your form they will arrange the exam and let you know the date.

The exam is a written and a practical test. Students with testing problems can take the exam orally for an extra fee.

If you fail the exam three times you will have to do the training again.

Fees

The become a CNA in Rhode Island costs about $1000. If you have a job with an some facilities, they may pay for both your training and tests.

If you have to pay the cost, you can find all of the fees below.  Both Rhode Island and Federal laws state that if you are in Medicare/Medicaid programs, you do not have to pay the state fees.

  • Both practical and written testing: $199
  • Orally given written and practical testing: $99
  • Only Written retest: $30
  • Only Practical retest: $69
  • Oral retest: $30

Certification Renewal

  • You must renew your license once every two years.
  • If you do not renew, your certification, it will lapse after 2 consecutive years without renewal.
  • Your certification may expire if you do not continue working . You will need to provide prove paid work of at least 8 hours in the past 2 years in order to keep certified.

Traditional Classes Training Centers

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer