facebook_pixel

CNA Classes in South Dakota (SD)

If you want to work as a certified nurse aide in the state of South Dakota, make sure you meet the eligibility requirements. Then, find an approved training program, or apply for a training waiver. Finally, apply to take the qualifying exam through D&S Diversified. Once you pass the exam, your name will be added to the state CNA registry and you’ll be ready to work.

Eligibility Criteria

You can apply for a CNA training program in South Dakota if you:

  • Are at least 18.
  • Have a high school diploma or GED.
  • Pass a complete health exam, including drug and TB tests.
  • Have proof of immunization.
  • Pass a criminal background and fingerprinting check. Any felony convictions on your record could disqualify you from the certification process.

Training Exemptions

The state of South Dakota may waive mandatory CNA training if you are:

  • Currently a nursing student.
  • Have proof of equivalent education in another health care field.
  • Have a CNA license that expired in the last 2 years.

Fees

Nurse aide certification courses cost from $600-$1,000 in South Dakota. If you work for a health care facility or have a job offer, your employer may bear the cost of tuition and exam fees.

If you pay out-of-pocket, your fees will be reimbursed if you get a job at a Medicaid-certified health care facility within 1 year after training.

Exam fees cost:

  • Written and skills testing: $152.50
  • Skills testing: $85
  • Written testing: $67.50

Certification Renewal

The CNA license is valid for 2 years from the date of issue. You can renew your license online through the South Dakota Board of Nursing website. You’ll need to fill out a nurse assistant registry renewal form.

To renew your certification, you must work for at least 8 hours as a paid CNA while you’re licensed.

Key Facts

  • The CNA exam includes both written and practical skills sections. The written section has 75 multiple choice questions. The practical section tests you on 5 randomly chosen clinical skills.
  • You have 3 tries to pass the exam. If you fail on the third try, you must repeat CNA training.
  • You can work as a nurse aide for up to 120 days in South Dakota without a license. However, you must be enrolled in a training program during that time. If you don’t pass the exam after 120 days, you’ll have to stop working until you get your license.

Traditional Classes Training Centers

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer